More Seminars:

Material Models of Plastics and Foams for Crash Simulation


Description

Numerical simulation has become a fundamental element in the development of motor vehicles. Today, many important design decisions, especially in the field of crash, are based on simulation results. During the last few years there has been an increase in the use of foams in vehicles. These are, due to their variety and structure, much more complicated regarding the characteristics of the materials than "simple" materials such as steel or aluminum, which can be modelled rather well. Characterization of foam materials is a great challenge for the simulation expert. Although by now there are different modelling approaches available in explicit FEM-programs such as LS-DYNA, PAM-CRASH or RADIOSS, these are, however, often not satisfactory. The application of these special material models requires a sound knowledge and experience. The seminar provides an overview over plastics and foam materials used in automotive engineering and their phenomenology. On the first day you obtain an introduction into the simulation of elastic and visco-elastic polymers, such as elastomers and elastic polymer foams with volume elements. You are thereby coming to understand the available material models in explicit finite element programs. On the second day the focus is on the treatment of plastics, such as thermo- and duroplastics through elasto-plasticity with isotropic hardening. Non-associated deformation is going to be discussed as well. The seminar is rounded off with the procedure for simulation of glass-fiber reinforced plastics using both isotropic and anisotropic material laws. For a demonstration you are going to see examples created with the program LS-DYNA. References to material models in LS-DYNA an PAM-CRASH are going to help you in applying what you will have learnt.

Who should attend?

The seminar addresses experienced CAE engineers and heads of CAE departments with an interest in plastic and foam materials simulation. At least 1-year of experience with FEM-programs such as LS-DYNA, PAM-CRASH or RADIOSS is suggested for participating in this course.

Course Contents

  • Overview of polymer materials used in vehicle construction
  • Verification and validation procedure for crash simulation
  • Introduction to mechanics of materials
  • Simulation of elastic and visco-elastic rubbers and foams with volume elements
  • Overview of available material models in explicit finite element codes
  • Simulation of elastic-plastic polymers under crash loading for validation
  • Simulation of anisotropic materials with application to glass-fiber reinforced plastics

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Kolling
Giessen University of Applied Sciences

Kolling Stefan Kolling is Professor for Mechanics at the Giessen University of Applied Sciences (THM). Previously he worked as a simulation engineer at the Mercedes Technology Center in Sindelfingen. He was responsible for methods development in crash simulation. In particular he was involved in the modelling of non-metal materials such as glass, polymers and plastics. Prof. Kolling graduated from the Universities of Saarbrücken and Darmstadt, from where he also received his Ph.D. He is author of numerous publications in the field of material modeling.

Date Language Price Code
22 May - 23 May 2019 English 1340 EUR  (1590 EUR from 25 Apr 2019 ) 3313
Venue  
Alzenau (carhs.training gmbh, Siemensstraße 12, 63755 Alzenau) » Register
Instructor  
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Kolling (Giessen University of Applied Sciences)
 
Seminar hours  
Wednesday 09:00 - 17:00
Thursday 09:00 - 17:00

This course is available as an in-house seminar. The trainer comes to your site - you save travel expenses and travel time. Get an offer.

Your contact person

Dr. Dirk Ulrich
Phone.: 06023 - 96 40 - 66
E-Mail: dirk.ulrich@carhs.de

Request now!

All prices are exclusive of VAT.

Weitere Seminare:

Materialmodelle von Kunststoffen und Schäumen für die Crashsimulation


Beschreibung

Die numerische Simulation ist heute elementarer Bestandteil des Entwicklungsprozesses von Kraftfahrzeugen. Viele wichtige Entscheidungen, besonders im Crash-Bereich, basieren auf Simulationsergebnissen. Zunehmend kommen im Fahrzeugbau Kunststoffe wie Polymerschäume, Elastomere und Thermoplaste zum Einsatz. Deren Werkstoffeigenschaften sind allerdings wegen ihrer Vielfalt und Struktur wesentlich komplizierter zu beschreiben als klassische Konstruktionswerkstoffe wie Stahl und Aluminium. Die mechanischen Eigenschaften von Polymerwerkstoffen stellen somit eine große Herausforderung für den Simulationsexperten dar. Inzwischen stehen dafür verschiedene Modelle in expliziten FEM-Programmen wie LS-DYNA, PAM-CRASH oder RADIOSS zur Verfügung. Die Anwendung dieser speziellen Materialmodelle erfordert solide theoretische Kenntnisse und praktische Erfahrung. Das Seminar gibt eine Übersicht über die im Automobilbau verwendeten Kunst- und Schaumstoffe und deren Phänomenologie. Am ersten Tag erhalten Sie eine Einführung in die Simulation von elastischen und visko-elastischen Polymerwerkstoffen, wie Elastomeren und elastischen Polymerschäumen mit Volumenelementen. Dabei lernen Sie die in expliziten Rechenprogrammen verfügbaren Materialmodelle detailliert kennen. Am zweiten Tag liegt der Schwerpunkt auf der Beschreibung von Kunststoffen, wie Thermo- und Duroplasten, welche mittels Elastoplastizität mit isotroper Verfestigung beschrieben werden können. Abgerundet wird der Kurs mit der Anwendung isotroper und anisotroper Materialgesetze für die Berechnung von kurzfaserverstärkten Kunststoffen.

Wer sollte teilnehmen?

Das Seminar wendet sich an erfahrene Berechnungsingenieure und Leiter von Berechnungsabteilungen mit Interesse an der Simulation von Kunststoffen und Schaumwerkstoffen. Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme sind mindestens 1 Jahr Erfahrung mit FEM-Programmen wie LS-DYNA, PAM-CRASH und RADIOSS.

Inhalte

  • Übersicht der im Automobilbau verwendeten Polymerwerkstoffe
  • Übersicht über die Validierungs- und Verifizierungsprozedur für Kunststoffe
  • Grundlagen der Werkstoffmechanik
  • Simulation von elastischen und visko-elastischen Polymerwerkstoffen mit Volumenelementen
  • Übersicht verfügbarer Materialmodelle in expliziten Rechenprogrammen
  • Einführung in die Elastoplastizität
  • Simulation von Kunststoff-Bauteilen als Validierungsbeispiele
  • Berechnung von Strukturbauteilen aus kurzfaserverstärkten Kunststoffen

Referenten

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Kolling
Technische Hochschule Mittelhessen

Kolling Stefan Kolling ist Professor für Mechanik an der Technischen Hochschule Mittelhessen in Gießen. Sein Arbeitsgebiet umfasst die Simulation von Impakt-Vorgängen sowie die entsprechende Materialmodellierung, insbesondere von Glas- und Polymerwerkstoffen. Er blickt auf eine langjährige Tätigkeit als Berechnungsingenieur im Mercedes Technology Center in Sindelfingen zurück, wo er neben der PKW-Entwicklung auch für neue Methoden in der Crashsimulation verantwortlich war. Stefan Kolling studierte Bauingenieurwesen in Saarbrücken und Mechanik in Darmstadt, wo er auch promovierte und habilitierte. Mit seiner Arbeit und als Autor zahlreicher Publikationen und Bücher hat er einen großen Beitrag zur Verbreitung und Weiterentwicklung der rechnerischen Simulation im Bereich Fahrzeugsicherheit geleistet.

Termine & Orte

Datum Sprache Preis Code
06.05. - 07.05.2020 English 1340 EUR  (1590 EUR ab 09.04.2020 ) 3467
Ort  
Alzenau (carhs.training gmbh, Siemensstraße 12, 63755 Alzenau) » Anmelden
Referent  
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Kolling (Technische Hochschule Mittelhessen)
 
Kurszeiten  
Mittwoch 09:00 - 17:00 Uhr
Donnerstag 09:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Inhouse Kurs

Dieses Seminar können Sie auch als Inhouse Seminar buchen. Dann kommt der Trainer zu Ihnen ins Haus - Sie sparen Reisekosten und Reisezeiten. Schon ab 4 Teilnehmern aus Ihrem Unternehmen. Fordern Sie unverbindlich ein Angebot an.

Ihr Ansprechparter

Dr. Dirk Ulrich
Tel.: 06023 - 96 40 - 66
E-Mail: dirk.ulrich@carhs.de

Jetzt anfragen!

Alle Preise verstehen sich zzgl. der gesetzlichen MwSt.