More Seminars:

Whiplash Testing and Evaluation in Rear Impacts


Description

In real-world accidents, distortions of the cervical spine or so-called whiplash injuries following a rear impact are among the most expensive injuries for the insurance industry. About 75 % of all injury costs of the insurers are caused by whiplash injuries in highly-motorized countries. About 80 % of all injuries in a rear impact are whiplash-injuries. This is why this type of injury ? even though it is neither very serious nor lethal ? has reached a high priority in the endeavors to develop test procedures and assessment criteria which help in designing constructive measures in the car in order to avoid this type of injury. As an introduction, this seminar refers to the different accident data for whiplash injuries, which offer many realizations but no consistent pattern with regard to the biomechanical injury mechanisms. However, some organizations ? mainly from the field of consumer information and insurance institutes ? are working on the development of test procedures and assessment criteria. The most active ones are Thatcham (UK) and IIHS (USA) which are united in the group IIWPG (International Insurance Whiplash Prevention Group), SNRA and Folksam (Sweden) and the German ADAC. In 2008 Euro NCAP has introduced a whiplash test procedure as part of its rating system. In 2014 an additional assessment for the rear seats was added. The Euro NCAP assessment will be explained in detail in the seminar. Furthermore, the EEVC working group 20 is active as a consulting authority concerning whiplash injuries for the legislation in Europe. The new Global Technical Regulation No. 7 (Head Restraints) is unsatisfactory from the European point of view. Therefore the United Nations work on a second phase of this regulation. The focus of this work is on improving the BioRID dummy and on the definition of so called Seat Performance Criteria. All discussions about the assessment of whiplash injuries within the framework of consumer information have in common, that the protection effect in a rear-end impact needs to be examined in an isolated vehicle seat by means of a sled test using a generic acceleration pulse. It turns out to be problematic, however, that presently there is no traumato-mechanical explanation of the phenomenon ?whiplash injury? and that all the currently discussed dummy-criteria with the respective limit values follow a so-called ?black-box approach?. Experts try to correlate the measured dummy criteria with the findings from accident data and to thus derive limit values. In this context the available dummy-technology with the different measuring devices and criteria, as well as the proposed limit values are going to be presented. In the last part of the seminar different seat design concepts (energy-absorbing, respectively geometry-improving), sub-divided into active and passive systems will be introduced, and their advantages and disadvantages will be discussed.

Who should attend?

The seminar addresses development engineers who are new in the field of rear impacts or who have already got some experience in the field of safety, as well as developers of subassemblies which have to fulfill a crash-relevant function. It is furthermore especially interesting for project managers and managers who deal with the topic of rear-end impacts and who would like to obtain a better knowledge of this subject in order to use it for an improvement of procedures.

Course Contents

  • Introduction into the characteristics of a rear-end impact
  • Overview of the most important whiplash requirements
  • Injury criteria
  • Dummy-technology for rear impacts
  • Presentation of the Euro NCAP and FMVSS 202-dynamic test procedures
  • Outlook on possible harmonization-tendencies
  • Explanation of the possible design measures in car seats

Thomas Frank
LEAR Corporation GmbH

Frank Thomas Frank joined the passive safety department of Lear Corporation in 2002 after graduating from the Technical University of Berlin in physical engineering sciences. At Lear Thomas Frank initially worked as a test engineer in crash testing, later he developed head rests. Today he is expert for low speed rear impact safety. In his position he guides the seat development with respect to meet whiplash protection requirements in regulations and consumer tests.

Date Language Price Code
09 Feb 2018 Deutsch 740 EUR  (890 EUR from 13 Jan 2018 ) 3113
Venue  
Alzenau (carhs.training gmbh, Siemensstraße 12, 63755 Alzenau) » Register
Instructor  
Thomas Frank (LEAR Corporation GmbH)
 
Seminar hours  
Friday 09:00 - 17:00
Date Language Price Code
21 Sep 2018 English 740 EUR  (890 EUR from 25 Aug 2018 ) 3114
Venue  
Alzenau (carhs.training gmbh, Siemensstraße 12, 63755 Alzenau) » Register
Instructor  
Thomas Frank (LEAR Corporation GmbH)
 
Seminar hours  
Friday 09:00 - 17:00

This course is available as an in-house seminar. The trainer comes to your site - you save travel expenses and travel time. Get an offer.

Your contact person

Dr. Dirk Ulrich
Phone.: 06023 - 96 40 - 66
E-Mail: dirk.ulrich@carhs.de

Request now!

All prices are exclusive of VAT.

Weitere Seminare:

Whiplash Test- und Bewertungsverfahren beim Heckaufprall


Beschreibung

Die Halswirbelsäulen-Distorsion infolge eines Heckaufpralls - auch als Whiplash Associated Disorders (WAD) bezeichnet - zählt zu den, für die Versicherer, teuersten geklagten Beschwerden im Straßenverkehr (ca. 75 % aller Verletzungskosten werden durch HWS-Distorsion verursacht). Etwa 80 % aller Verletzungen im Heckaufprall sind sog. WAD. Auch wenn hierdurch keine schwersten oder gar tödlichen Verletzungen verursacht werden, hat damit diese Verletzungsart eine hohe Priorität. Deshalb gibt es große Bemühungen, entsprechende Test- und Bewertungskriterien für konstruktive Maßnahmen im Fahrzeug zu entwickeln, die die Entstehung dieser Beschwerdeart vermeiden sollen. In diesem Seminar wird auf die verschiedenen Unfalldaten zum Thema HWS-Distorsion eingegangen, die viele Erkenntnisse, jedoch kein einheitliches Bild hinsichtlich des biomechanischen Entstehungsmechanismus liefern. Trotzdem haben einige Organisationen, vorrangig aus dem Bereich der Verbraucherinformation und Versicherungswirtschaft, Test- und Bewertungsverfahren für Fahrzeugsitze entwickelt bzw. entwickeln diese weiter. Einige veröffentlichen regelmäßig Testergebnisse. Aktiv sind hier Thatcham (UK) und IIHS (USA), die sich in der Gruppe IIWPG (International Insurance Whiplash Prevention Group) zusammengeschlossen haben. SNRA und Folksam (Schweden) und der ADAC haben dazu ebenfalls Ergebnisse veröffentlicht. Seit dem Jahr 2008 hat Euro NCAP eine Whiplash-Bewertung von Fahrzeugsitzen eingeführt. Seit 2014 gibt es zusätzlich eine Whiplashbewertung für die hinteren Sitze. 2020 plant Euro NCAP eine Verschärfung der Anforderungen. Das Euro NCAP Bewertungsverfahren wird im Seminar ausführlich erläutert. Auch das EEVC ist mit der Arbeitsgruppe 20 als beratende Instanz des Gesetzgebers in Europa zum Thema Whiplash aktiv. Mit der Global Technical Regulation No. 7 (Head Restraints) wurde eine Regelung verabschiedet, die aus europäischer Sicht unzureichend ist. Bei den Vereinten Nationen wird daher an einer Phase 2 zu dieser GTR No. 7 gearbeitet. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt dieser Arbeit liegt in der Verbesserung des eingesetzten BioRID Dummies und der Erarbeitung von sog. Seat Performance Criteria. Allen bisherigen Diskussionen zur Whiplash-Bewertung ist gemein, dass die Schutzwirkung beim Heckaufprall an einem isolierten Fahrzeugsitz mittels eines Schlittenversuches und einer generischen Beschleunigung untersucht werden soll. Problematisch erweist sich dabei, dass es gegenwärtig keine traumatomechanische Erklärung des Phänomens Whiplash gibt und alle diskutierten Dummy-Kriterien mit den zugehörigen Grenzwerten einem sog. "black-box approach" folgen. Dabei wird versucht, die gemessenen Dummy-Kriterien mit den Erkenntnissen aus den Realunfalldaten zu korrelieren und so Grenzwerte abzuleiten. In diesem Zusammenhang werden die zur Verfügung stehende Dummy-Technik mit den verschiedensten Messwertaufnehmern und Kriterien, sowie auch die möglichen Grenzwerte vorgestellt. Abschließend werden konstruktive Ansätze für Sitzkonzepte (Energie absorbierend bzw. geometrieverbessernd), unterteilt in aktive und passive Systeme, vorgestellt sowie deren Vor- und Nachteile diskutiert.

Wer sollte teilnehmen?

Das Seminar richtet sich an Entwickler, die sich mit dem Heckaufprall auseinandersetzen und sich einen umfassenden Überblick über das Thema verschaffen wollen.

Inhalte

  • Einführung in die Besonderheiten des Heckaufpralls
  • Übersicht zu den weltweit wichtigsten Whiplash-Anforderungen
  • Vorstellung der Bewertungskriterien
  • Beschreibung der Dummy-Technik
  • Erläuterung der Testverfahren nach Euro NCAP und FMVSS 202 dynamische Option
  • Ausblick auf mögliche Harmonisierungstendenzen
  • Erläuterung der möglichen konstruktiven Maßnahmen am Fahrzeugsitz

Referenten

Thomas Frank
LEAR Corporation GmbH

Frank Thomas Frank hat an der TU Berlin Physikalische Ingenieurwissenschaften studiert. Seit 2002 ist er Angestellter der LEAR Corporation im Bereich Passive Fahrzeugsicherheit. Hier ist er Wissensträger im Bereich des leichten Heckaufpralls. In dieser Position beeinflusst er projektübergreifend die Sitzentwicklung und begleitet die Validierung hinsichtlich der Erfüllung der gesetzlichen Vorgaben und der Erreichung der Entwicklungsziele von Verbraucherschutz-Anforderungen zur Whiplash-Protektion.

Termine & Orte

Datum Sprache Preis Code
20.09.2019 English 790 EUR  (940 EUR ab 24.08.2019 ) 3334
Ort  
Alzenau (carhs.training gmbh, Siemensstraße 12, 63755 Alzenau) » Anmelden
Referent  
Thomas Frank (LEAR Corporation GmbH)
 
Kurszeiten  
Freitag 09:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Inhouse Kurs

Dieses Seminar können Sie auch als Inhouse Seminar buchen. Dann kommt der Trainer zu Ihnen ins Haus - Sie sparen Reisekosten und Reisezeiten. Schon ab 4 Teilnehmern aus Ihrem Unternehmen. Fordern Sie unverbindlich ein Angebot an.

Ihr Ansprechparter

Dr. Dirk Ulrich
Tel.: 06023 - 96 40 - 66
E-Mail: dirk.ulrich@carhs.de

Jetzt anfragen!

Alle Preise verstehen sich zzgl. der gesetzlichen MwSt.