More Seminars:

Design for Durability - Lightweight Car Bodies and Fatigue


Description

Today lightweight design is of paramount importance in car body development. The objective is to save both material and energy during manufacturing as well as during use. All of this without sacrificing technical function, economy and safety of people and environment. Due to the inherent approach of lightweight construction to reach for the limits the load-bearing capacity of designs are often reached and the demand for durability - that is, adequate fatigue strength over the entire service life - suddenly comes to the fore.

Who should attend?

The seminar is aimed at engineers and technicians in the development departments of automotive manufacturers, suppliers and engineering service providers who deal with the design, construction, simulation and development of vehicle bodies, with special regard to durability.

Course Objectives

In the seminar first the basic principles of durability are presented with particular regard to the design of car bodies. Then the design principles of modern lightweight body construction are taught. In addition, the use of numerical simulation and mathematical optimization within the modern car body development process is explained. After participating in the seminar, the participants will understand the influence of cyclical loading on the design of car bodies, will be able to identify problems in the design and will be able to resolve them using appropriate design methods. They understand how the fatigue analysis and geometric optimization enable the modern virtual development process.

Course Contents

  • Remarkable cases of damage
  • Loads and stresses during driving
    • Cyclic loading
    • Special loads
    • Misuse load cases
  • Crack initiation and fracture behavior
    • Material fatigue
    • Failure criteria
    • Learning from real cases of damage
  • Material and component strength
    • Finite life fatigue strength and endurance limit, Wohler curves
    • Fatigue strength under variable stress amplitude, Gassner curves
    • Scatter of fatigue strength
  • Influence factors
    • Design, shape
    • Mean stress
  • Lifetime (fatigue) simulation
    • Fatigue damage definition
    • Fatigue damage accumulation
    • FEA based fatigue analysis
  • Design principles for lightweight car bodies
    • Direct load paths
    • Typical load paths in car body
    • Large moment of inertia
    • Filigree design of structures
    • Support through curvature
    • Intentional stiffening
    • Function integration
    • Framework design vs. shell structures
    • Application to practice-relevant cases

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Udo Jung
THM University of Applied Sciences

Jung Prof. Dr.-Ing. Udo Jung studied mechanical engineering at the Technical University Darmstadt and promoted in the field of fatigue and finite element analysis at the Institute of Materials Science at the TU Darmstadt. At Adam Opel AG, he initially worked as a development engineer in the analysis department and introduced the fatigue life analysis in virtual vehicle development. Subsequently, he took over the management of the simulation and test methodology in the central durability laboratory. Since 2005 he has been a university professor for lightweight design and durability as well as construction and FE methods at the Technische Hochschule Mittelhessen (THM) at Friedberg Campus. In the field of research, he is at the forefront of the Competence Center for Automotive, Mobility and Materials Research (AutoM). He also heads the TransMIT Center for Lightweight Design and Durability of TransMIT Gesellschaft für Technologietransfer mbH, Giessen.

Date Language Price Code
01 Mar 2019 Deutsch 790 EUR  (940 EUR from 02 Feb 2019 ) 3416
Venue  
Alzenau (carhs.training gmbh, Siemensstraße 12, 63755 Alzenau) » Register
Instructor  
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Udo Jung (THM University of Applied Sciences)
 
Seminar hours  
Friday 09:00 - 17:00
Date Language Price Code
02 Dec 2019 Deutsch 790 EUR  (940 EUR from 05 Nov 2019 ) 3417
Venue  
Alzenau (carhs.training gmbh, Siemensstraße 12, 63755 Alzenau) » Register
Instructor  
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Udo Jung (THM University of Applied Sciences)
 
Seminar hours  
Monday 09:00 - 17:00

This course is available as an in-house seminar. The trainer comes to your site - you save travel expenses and travel time. Get an offer.

Your contact person

Dr. Dirk Ulrich
Phone.: 06023 - 96 40 - 66
E-Mail: dirk.ulrich@carhs.de

Request now!

All prices are exclusive of VAT.

Weitere Seminare:

Design for Durability - betriebsfester Leichtbau


Beschreibung

In der Karosserieentwicklung hat das Thema Leichtbau heute eine überragende Bedeutung. Es gilt - sowohl bei der Herstellung als auch während der Nutzung - Material (Gewicht) und Energie einzusparen. Und dies ohne Abstriche hinsichtlich technischer Funktion, Wirtschaftlichkeit sowie Sicherheit für Mensch und Umgebung. Durch die mit dem Leichtbau zwangsläufig verbundene Ausschöpfung aller Reserven werden häufig die Grenzen der Belastbarkeit von Konstruktionen erreicht und die Forderung nach Betriebsfestigkeit - also ausreichender Haltbarkeit über die gesamte Nutzungsdauer - tritt plötzlich in den Vordergrund.

Wer sollte teilnehmen?

Das Seminar wendet sich an Ingenieure und Techniker in den Entwicklungsbereichen von Automobilherstellern, Zulieferern und Dienstleistern, die sich mit der Auslegung, Konstruktion, Simulation und Entwicklung von Fahrzeugkarosserien, unter dem Aspekt der Betriebsfestigkeit, befassen.

Ziele

Im Seminar werden zunächst die Grundlagen der Betriebsfestigkeit in Hinblick auf die Auslegung von Fahrzeugkarosserien dargestellt. Danach werden die konstruktiven Prinzipien des modernen Karosserie-Leichtbaus vermittelt. Darüber hinaus wird die Nutzung den numerischen Simulation und der mathematischen Optimierung im modernen Entwicklungsprozess erläutert. Nach der Teilnahme am Seminar verstehen die Teilnehmer den Einfluss der zyklischen Belastungen auf die Gestaltung von Karosserien, können Probleme in der Konstruktion erkennen und durch geeignete Gestaltung auflösen. Sie verstehen wie die Betriebsfestigkeits-Analyse und die geometrische Optimierung den modernen virtuellen Entwicklungsprozess ermöglichen.

Inhalte

  • Bemerkenswerte Schadensfälle
  • Belastungen und Beanspruchungen im Fahrbetrieb
    • Schwingbelastungen
    • Sonderlasten
    • Missbrauchslasten
  • Anriss- und Bruchvorgänge
    • Werkstoffermüdung
    • Versagenskriterien
    • Lernen aus realen Schadensfällen
  • Werkstoff- und Bauteilfestigkeit
    • Zeit- und Dauerfestigkeit, Wöhlerlinie
    • Betriebsfestigkeit, Lebensdauerlinie
    • Streuung der Schwingfestigkeit
  • Einflussfaktoren
    • Konstruktion, Gestaltung
    • Mittelspannung
  • Lebensdauer-Simulation
    • Rechnerische Schädigung
    • Schadensakkumulation
    • FEM-basierte Simulation
  • Konstruktive Prinzipien des Karosserieleichtbaus
    • Direkte Kraftleitung
    • Typische Lastpfade der Rohkarosserie
    • Großes Flächenträgheitsmoment
    • Feingliederung von Strukturen
    • Stützwirkung durch Krümmung
    • Gezielte Versteifung
    • Funktionsintegration
    • Fachwerkbauweise, Schalensystem
    • Anwendung auf praxisrelevante Fälle

Referenten

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Udo Jung
Technische Hochschule Mittelhessen

Jung Prof. Dr.-Ing. Udo Jung studierte Allgemeinen Maschinenbau an der TU Darmstadt und promovierte auf dem Gebiet der Schwingfestigkeit und Finite-Elemente-Analyse am Institut für Werkstoffkunde der TU Darmstadt. Bei der Adam Opel AG war er zunächst als Entwicklungsingenieur in der Fahrzeugberechnung tätig und führte die Lebensdauerberechnung in die virtuelle Fahrzeugentwicklung ein. Anschließend übernahm er die Leitung der Simulation und Prüfmethodik im Zentrallabor Betriebsfestigkeit. Seit 2005 ist er Hochschullehrer für Leichtbau und Betriebsfestigkeit sowie Konstruktion und FE-Methoden an der Technischen Hochschule Mittelhessen (THM) am Campus Friedberg. Im Bereich Forschung steht er dort an der Spitze des Kompetenzzentrums für Automotive, Mobilität und Materialforschung (AutoM). Zudem leitet er das TransMIT-Zentrum für Leichtbau und Betriebsfestigkeit der TransMIT Gesellschaft für Technologietransfer mbH, Gießen.

Termine & Orte

Datum Sprache Preis Code
02.12.2019 Deutsch 790 EUR  (940 EUR ab 05.11.2019 ) 3417
Ort  
Alzenau (carhs.training gmbh, Siemensstraße 12, 63755 Alzenau) » Anmelden
Referent  
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Udo Jung (Technische Hochschule Mittelhessen)
 
Kurszeiten  
Montag 09:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Inhouse Kurs

Dieses Seminar können Sie auch als Inhouse Seminar buchen. Dann kommt der Trainer zu Ihnen ins Haus - Sie sparen Reisekosten und Reisezeiten. Schon ab 4 Teilnehmern aus Ihrem Unternehmen. Fordern Sie unverbindlich ein Angebot an.

Ihr Ansprechparter

Dr. Dirk Ulrich
Tel.: 06023 - 96 40 - 66
E-Mail: dirk.ulrich@carhs.de

Jetzt anfragen!

Alle Preise verstehen sich zzgl. der gesetzlichen MwSt.