More Seminars:

Basics of Occupant Protection in Frontal Crashes: Mechanics, Energy Considerations, Protection Criteria and Application Examples


Description

Constant changes of requirements - in particular in the consumer protection tests - let the design of restraint systems continuously seem more and more complex. The safety of rear seat occupants, for example, is playing an important role in the restraint system development today. Therefore, a deep understanding of the complete system vehicle - restraint system - dummy is necessary to successfully adjust the system. A profound knowledge of the mechanisms causing dummy loading and the parameters influencing and enabling their optimization is essential. In this 2-day seminar, the mechanics of occupant restraining and the idea of energy considerations, as well as the most important occupant protection criteria and strategies for their reduction, are discussed. This knowledge is then put in a context of legal requirements and ratings. The seminar focuses on the influence of the seat belt, whereas unbelted load cases and an in depth analysis of airbag concepts is not part of this seminar. The seminar approaches occupant safety both from a theoretical basis as well as from the interpretation of experimental data. Attendees will learn about the phases of retention, the main parameters influencing occupant loading and approaches for computing the balances of the restraint forces acting on the occupant. Another topic of the seminar is the rear seat occupant protection. The aim of the seminar is to gain an understanding about the forces involved in energy absorption and their effects on the occupants.

Who should attend?

The course is intended for simulation engineers, systems engineers, project engineers, project managers and the heads of teams or departments in the crash area, dealing with the development of restraint systems or the analysis of crash data.

Course Contents

  • Mechanical basics of frontal impact
  • Dummies in frontal crash: THOR, HIII 50%, HIII 5%, Q6 and Q10
  • Short overview of new regulations and consumer tests
  • Energy considerations - force balances
  • Phases of retention: Coupling and controlled retention
  • Relevant criteria for occupant protection: Mechanisms and parameters for their reduction
  • Priorities in the design of restraint systems for front and rear seats
  • Application examples and tips

Dr.-Ing. Burkhard Eickhoff
Autoliv B.V. & Co. KG

Eickhoff Burkhard Eickhoff studied mechanical engineering in Hannover (Germany) focusing on vehicle engineering and applied mechanics. Starting from 1999 he worked with Autoliv B.V. & Co. KG as a test engineer for sled and crash tests. Since 2003 he has been project manager in systems development (safety belt) of the same company. He was involved in the definition and assessment of new restraint systems and he conducted feasibility studies using system simulation as well as dynamical tests. Moreover he had a consultant role regarding restraint system design. He finished his doctoral thesis at the Helmut Schmidt University Hamburg in 2012 on the reduction of belt induced thorax deflection in frontal crashes. Since 2016 he has been head of the department Virtual & System Engineering, Homologation at Autoliv B.V. & Co. KG.

Date Language Price Code
08 Mar - 09 Mar 2018 Deutsch 1290 EUR  (1540 EUR from 09 Feb 2018 ) 3048
Venue  
Alzenau (carhs.training gmbh, Siemensstraße 12, 63755 Alzenau) » Register
Instructor  
Dr.-Ing. Burkhard Eickhoff (Autoliv B.V. & Co. KG)
 
Seminar hours  
Thursday 09:00 - 17:00
Friday 09:00 - 17:00

This course is available as an in-house seminar. The trainer comes to your site - you save travel expenses and travel time. Get an offer.

Your contact person

Dr. Dirk Ulrich
Phone.: 06023 - 96 40 - 66
E-Mail: dirk.ulrich@carhs.de

Request now!

All prices are exclusive of VAT.

Weitere Seminare:

Insassenrückhaltung im Frontalcrash - Mechanik, Energiebetrachtungen, Dummy-Belastungsgrößen und Auslegungsbeispiele


Beschreibung

Stetige Änderungen, insbesondere der Verbraucherschutztests, lassen die Auslegung von Rückhaltesystemen immer komplexer erscheinen. So nimmt z. B. die Sicherheit von Fondinsassen inzwischen einen großen Raum bei der Rückhaltesystemauslegung eines Fahrzeuges ein. Zur erfolgreichen Abstimmung ist daher - neben der Kenntnis über gesetzliche Anforderungen und Ratingprotokolle - ein tiefes Verständnis des Gesamtsystems Fahrzeug-Rückhaltesystem-Dummy notwendig. Dabei ist sowohl die Kenntnis über die Entstehungsmechanismen relevanter Belastungsgrößen, als auch der Parameter unerlässlich, mit denen diese beeinflusst und minimiert werden können. In diesem 2-tägigen Seminar werden sowohl die Mechanik bei der Insassenrückhaltung und die Idee energetischer Betrachtungen vermittelt, als auch die wichtigsten Belastungsgrößen und Strategien zu deren Reduktion diskutiert. Die erworbenen Kenntnisse werden dann in einen Kontext aus gesetzlichen Anforderungen und Ratings gestellt. Dabei wird insbesondere auf den Einfluss des Sicherheitsgurtes fokussiert, eine Analyse von ungegurteten Lastfällen, wie auch eine tiefgreifende Analyse von Airbagauslegungskonzepten erfolgt nicht. Das Thema wird sowohl anhand von theoretischen Grundlagen als auch durch die Interpretation von Versuchsdaten erarbeitet. Sie lernen die Phasen der Rückhaltung, Parameter, die die wesentlichen Belastungsgrößen beeinflussen, sowie Berechnungsansätze für die Bilanzierung der am Insassen wirkenden Rückhaltekräfte kennen. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt liegt darüber hinaus auf der Sicherheit von Insassen auf der Rückbank. Ziel ist es, zu einem für die Auslegung von Rückhaltesystemen notwendigen Verständnis zu gelangen.

Wer sollte teilnehmen?

Der Kurs wendet sich an Simulationsingenieure, Systemingenieure, Projektingenieure und Projektleiter sowie Leiter von Teams oder Abteilungen im Crash-Bereich, die sich mit der Entwicklung bzw. Auslegung von Rückhaltesystemen oder der Crashdatenanalyse befassen.

Inhalte

  • Mechanische Grundlagen des Frontalaufpralls
  • Dummys im Frontalcrash: THOR, HIII 50 %, HIII 5 %, Q6 und Q10
  • Kurzes Update gesetzlicher Vorschriften und Verbraucherschutztests
  • Energiebetrachtungen - Kraftbilanzen
  • Phasen der Rückhaltung: Ankopplung und kontrollierte Rückhaltung
  • Relevante Belastungsgrößen: Mechanismen und Parameter zur Reduktion
  • Schwerpunkte bei der Auslegung von Rückhaltesystemen auf dem Vorder- und Rücksitz
  • Anwendungsbeispiele und Tipps

Referenten

Dr.-Ing. Burkhard Eickhoff
Autoliv B.V. & Co. KG

Eickhoff Burkhard Eickhoff studierte in Hannover Maschinenbau mit den Schwerpunkten Fahrzeugtechnik und angewandte Mechanik. Ab 1999 arbeitete er bei der Autoliv B.V. & Co. KG als Versuchsingenieur für Schlitten- und Crashversuche. Im Jahr 2003 wechselte er als Projektleiter in die Systementwicklung (Bereich Sicherheitsgurte) des gleichen Unternehmens. Seine Tätigkeit umfasste die Definition und Bewertung neuer Rückhaltesysteme ebenso wie die Durchführung von Machbarkeitsstudien mittels Systemsimulation und dynamischen Versuchen. Darüber hinaus hatte er beratende Tätigkeit bei Fragen der Rückhaltesystemauslegung. Im Jahr 2012 promovierte er an der Helmut Schmidt Universität in Hamburg über ein Verfahren zur Reduktion gurtinduzierter Thorax-Eindrückungen im Frontalcrash. Seit 2016 leitet er die Abteilung Virtual & System Engineering, Homologation  bei der Autoliv B.V. & Co. KG.

Termine & Orte

Keine Termine vorhanden

Inhouse Kurs

Dieses Seminar können Sie auch als Inhouse Seminar buchen. Dann kommt der Trainer zu Ihnen ins Haus - Sie sparen Reisekosten und Reisezeiten. Schon ab 4 Teilnehmern aus Ihrem Unternehmen. Fordern Sie unverbindlich ein Angebot an.

Ihr Ansprechparter

Dr. Dirk Ulrich
Tel.: 06023 - 96 40 - 66
E-Mail: dirk.ulrich@carhs.de

Jetzt anfragen!

Alle Preise verstehen sich zzgl. der gesetzlichen MwSt.