More Seminars:

Introduction to Impact Biomechanics and Human Body Models


Description

To prevent human injury in traffic it is necessary to understand the biomechanics of impact. This can be done through experimental studies with human subjects, volunteers, or post-mortem human subjects (PMHS), after ethical approval. The individual variation is large in experiments with human subjects, due to the wide spread of anthropometry and material properties that depend on factors such as gender, age, and health status. Mechanical anthropometric crash test dummies were developed to provide repetitive tools for development and assessment of safety systems for specific loading scenarios, representing mid-size males, large males, small females and children of different ages. With the development of advanced safety systems, the need for repetitive tools with increased biofidelity and anatomical details, initiated development of numerical human body models. With increasing computer capacity, human body models have become popular tools for traffic safety research, crash simulations, safety evaluations and to study the effects of population diversity on traffic safety. This course covers the basic topics of impact biomechanics, such as human anatomy, population variance, mechanical properties of human tissues, and injury criteria. Finally, it focuses on computational models of the human body and their use to develop and evaluate safety systems.

Who should attend?

This seminar addresses everyone who wants to obtain an up-to-date overview or who needs a deepened understanding of the field of impact biomechanics, such as university graduates, career changers, management, project assistants, internal service providers, qualified technicians from the crash-test lab or anyone basing product development or decision-making on simulation results with human body models.

Course Objectives

The objective of this course is to introduce impact biomechanics, injury biomechanics, and to provide an overview of computational models of the human body. You will learn about the most important topics and get a chance to understand how it relates to your work and traffic safety in general.

Course Contents

  • Introduction to impact biomechanics
    • Human anatomy & physiology
    • Medical terminology
    • Injury scaling scores
    • Epidemiology
    • Human substitutes
  • Material properties
    • Soft tissues
    • Hard tissues
  • Injury mechanisms, tolerances, & criteria
    • Head and neck
    • Thorax
    • Upper and lower extremities
  • Population variability
    • Biomechanics of children
    • The aging population
    • Gender differences
  • Human body models
    • Introduction to numerical methods
    • Methodology for model development
    • Validation of models
    • State of the art models
    • Strengths and limitations

Prof. Dr. Karin Brolin
Lightness by Design AB

Brolin Karin Brolin has worked in the field of impact biomechanics throughout her career. Karin Brolin earned her Ph.D. in 2002 at the Royal Institute of Technology, and since then she has worked in both academia and industry on the topic of human body injury mechanisms and tolerances. The past ten years she led a research group focusing on human body simulations for traffic safety and injury prevention, as Professor in Computational Impact Biomechanics at Chalmers University of Technology. Since 2019 Dr. Brolin has worked as an independent consultant and researcher.

Date Language Price Code
23 Nov - 26 Nov 2021 English 1340 EUR  (1590 EUR from 27 Oct 2021 ) 3794
Venue  
Online (Online-Seminar) » Register
Instructor  
Prof. Dr. Karin Brolin (Lightness by Design AB)
 
Specifics  
Seminar hours: Tuesday 23.11.2021 - Friday 26.11.2021 - daily from 9:00 am - 1:00 pm. CET  
Date Language Price Code
06 Apr - 07 Apr 2022 English 1340 EUR  (1590 EUR from 10 Mar 2022 ) 3870
Venue  
Alzenau (carhs.training gmbh, Siemensstraße 12, 63755 Alzenau) » Register
Instructor  
Prof. Dr. Karin Brolin (Lightness by Design AB)
 
Seminar hours  
Wednesday 09:00 - 17:00
Thursday 09:00 - 17:00

This course is available as an in-house seminar. The trainer comes to your site - you save travel expenses and travel time. Get an offer.

Your contact person

Dr. Dirk Ulrich
Phone.: 06023 - 96 40 - 66
E-Mail: dirk.ulrich@carhs.de

Request now!

All prices are exclusive of VAT.

Weitere Seminare:

Einführung in die Aufprall-Biomechanik und digitale Menschenmodelle


Beschreibung

Um Verletzungen von Menschen im Straßenverkehr zu verhindern, ist es zunächst notwendig, die Biomechanik beim Aufprall zu verstehen. Dies kann - nach ethischer Genehmigung - durch experimentelle Studien mit menschlichen Probanden, Freiwilligen oder postmortalen menschlichen Probanden (PMHS), geschehen. Die individuelle Variation ist bei Experimenten mit menschlichen Probanden wegen der großen Streuung der Anthropometrie und der Materialeigenschaften, die von Faktoren wie Geschlecht, Alter und Gesundheitszustand abhängen, enorm. Mechanische anthropometrische Crashtest-Dummys wurden entwickelt, um zuverlässige Werkzeuge für die Entwicklung und Bewertung von Sicherheitssystemen für spezifische Belastungsszenarien zu liefern. Die heute existierenden Dummies repräsentieren mittelgroße Männer, große Männer, kleine Frauen und Kinder unterschiedlichen Alters. Aus der Entwicklung fortschrittlicher Sicherheitssysteme ist der Wunsch nach Entwicklungswerkzeugen mit besserer Abbildung der biomechanischen Eigenschaften des Menschen und mehr anatomischen Details erwachsen und es wurde die Entwicklung numerischer Modelle des menschlichen Körpers initiiert. Mit zunehmender Leistungsfähigkeit der Computer sind menschliche Körpermodelle zu beliebten Werkzeugen für die Verkehrssicherheitsforschung, Crash-Simulationen in der Fahrzeugentwicklung, Sicherheitsbewertungen und zur Untersuchung der Auswirkungen der Varianz der menschlichen Körper auf die Verkehrssicherheit geworden. Dieser Kurs deckt die grundlegenden Themen der Aufprallbiomechanik, wie z.B. die menschliche Anatomie, die Populationsvarianz, die mechanischen Eigenschaften des menschlichen Gewebes und die Verletzungskriterien, ab. Anschließend werden die verfügbaren Berechnungsmodelle des menschlichen Körpers und deren Verwendung bei der Entwicklung und Bewertung von Sicherheitssystemen besprochen.

Wer sollte teilnehmen?

Dieses Seminar richtet sich an alle, die sich einen aktuellen Überblick über die Aufprallbiomechanik verschaffen wollen oder auch ein vertieftes Verständnis benötigen. Dies sind z. B. Hochschulabsolventen, Quereinsteiger, Führungskräfte, Projektassistenten, interne Dienstleister, qualifizierte Techniker aus dem Crashtest-Labor oder alle, die bei Entscheidungen in der Produktentwicklung auf Simulationsergebnisse mit digitalen Menschenmodellen zurückgreifen wollen.

Ziele

Ziel dieses Kurses ist es, in die Aufprall- und Verletzungsbiomechanik einzuführen und einen Überblick über Berechnungsmodelle des menschlichen Körpers zu geben. Die Teilnehmer lernen die wichtigsten Themen kennen und erhalten die Möglichkeit zu verstehen, wie diese mit Ihrer Arbeit und der Verkehrssicherheit im Allgemeinen zusammenhängen.

Inhalte

  • Einführung in die Biomechanik des Aufpralls
    • Menschliche Anatomie und Physiologie
    • Medizinische Terminologie
    • Verletzungs-Scores
    • Epidemiologie
    • Menschliche Substitute
  • Materialeigenschaften
    • Weichteile
    • Harte Gewebe
  • Verletzungsmechanismen, Toleranzen und Kriterien
    • Kopf und Hals
    • Thorax
    • Obere und untere Extremitäten
  • Variabilität in der Bevölkerung
    • Biomechanik von Kindern
    • Die alternde Bevölkerung
    • Geschlechtsspezifische Unterschiede
  • Menschliche Körpermodelle
    • Einführung in numerische Methoden
    • Methodik der Modellentwicklung
    • Validierung von Modellen
    • Stand der Technik der Modelle
    • Möglichkeiten und Grenzen

Referenten

Prof. Dr. Karin Brolin
Lightness by Design AB

Brolin Karin Brolin hat während ihrer gesamten Karriere auf dem Gebiet der Aufprallbiomechanik gearbeitet. Karin Brolin promovierte 2002 am Royal Institute of Technology (Stockholm, Schweden) und hat seitdem sowohl in der Wissenschaft als auch in der Industrie zum Thema Verletzungsmechanismen und Toleranzen des menschlichen Körpers gearbeitet. In den letzten zehn Jahren leitete sie als Professorin für Computational Impact Biomechanics an der Chalmers University of Technology (Göteborg, Schweden) eine Forschungsgruppe, die sich mit Simulationen des menschlichen Körpers für Verkehrssicherheit und Verletzungsprävention befasste. Seit 2019 arbeitet Dr. Brolin als unabhängige Beraterin und Forscherin.

Termine & Orte

Datum Sprache Preis Code
23.11. - 26.11.2021 English 790 EUR  (940 EUR ab 27.10.2021 ) 3794
Ort  
Online (Online-Seminar) » Anmelden
Referent  
Prof. Dr. Karin Brolin (Lightness by Design AB)
 
Besonderheiten  
Online-Kompakt-Seminar mit deutlich reduziertem Umfang und Inhalt (4 x 2 Stunden), Di. 23.11. - Fr. 26.11. jeweils 9-11 Uhr  
Datum Sprache Preis Code
06.04. - 07.04.2022 English 1340 EUR  (1590 EUR ab 10.03.2022 ) 3870
Ort  
Alzenau (carhs.training gmbh, Siemensstraße 12, 63755 Alzenau) » Anmelden
Referent  
Prof. Dr. Karin Brolin (Lightness by Design AB)
 
Kurszeiten  
Mittwoch 09:00 - 17:00 Uhr
Donnerstag 09:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Inhouse Kurs

Dieses Seminar können Sie auch als Inhouse Seminar buchen. Dann kommt der Trainer zu Ihnen ins Haus - Sie sparen Reisekosten und Reisezeiten. Schon ab 4 Teilnehmern aus Ihrem Unternehmen. Fordern Sie unverbindlich ein Angebot an.

Ihr Ansprechparter

Dr. Dirk Ulrich
Tel.: 06023 - 96 40 - 66
E-Mail: dirk.ulrich@carhs.de

Jetzt anfragen!

Alle Preise verstehen sich zzgl. der gesetzlichen MwSt.